Album Release / UK Gig

Tragedy RocksChris Shaw mixed it, Howie Weinbeg mastered it and The Crimea recorded it. Finally Tragedy Rocks, The Crimea’s debut US album, is set for an early summer realease and will feature the uber catchy “White Russian Galaxy”, Peel favourite “Lottery Winners On Acid”, “Baby Boom”, classic “Opposite Ends”, newby “Losing My Hair”, “Here Comes the Suffering” aka Ching, “Bad Vibrations”, “The Great Unknown”, “Howling At the Moon”, fan favourite “Girl Just Died”, “Gazillions of Miniature Violins” and War Child charity download “Someone’s Crying”.
But before they head back to the US for a country wide tour with Ash, they’re playing one last gig in London at the Barfly on March 3rd. Check out the details on the front page of the Barfly London website, or just hit More.

Barfly Presents: The Crimea
Doors – 7.30pm, Tickets – ?5 adv (Buy Tickets)

About to embark on a tour of The US with indie megastars Ash and official “next-big-things” The Bravery? Willing to heroically step in at the last second to deputise for a certain band whose frontman has been taken poorly? It must be The Crimea, who will be bidding a fond farewell for these fair shores for two months, and are set to come back genuine bona fide superstars, so it’s only fitting that they play their last UK gig for a while at the venue with which their members have always had such a close relationship. Ever since some of their number were previously known as The Crocketts, the Barfly has had a special place in its heart for this band, and this gig is the perfect opportunity to see what it is that makes them so special.

Added to the The Crimea category/s. Follow responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

7 Responses to “Album Release / UK Gig”

  1. Denyer says:

    What the hell happened to Out Of Africa?!

  2. Denyer says:

    Actually, what happened to Utopia / Bombay Sapphire Coma as well? Though that one I can more about understand, given its similarities to Fred Flintstone / Baby Boom and White Russian Galaxy. Okay, so Six Shoulders Six Stone wasn’t to everyone’s liking. Would’ve picked The Miserabilist Tango to keep over The Great Unknown.

    C’mon, thirteen tracks won’t be unlucky… our American friends deserve OOA!

    Nice choice on Girl Just Died, though. I take it this is a re-record to sound more like the live version?

  3. Christopher says:

    I think they’ve re-recorded just about everything.

  4. Denyer says:

    Ah. They might not have had studio time to do everything, then.

    Do we know why the Lottery Winners On Acid EP was classed as a ‘UK import’ when it’s never been released in the UK?

    Also, any idea whether the UK is going to get more copies of the mail-order album, switch over to the US re-recorded version with the new tracklisting, or something completely different?

    Is the US likely to get singles other than the LWOA EP? (Must confess, I’ve no idea whether most of America still runs singles charts for CDs.)

    Sorry fer all the questions… ;-)

  5. Christopher says:

    i don’t think there’s any chance of the original album being sold again, jsut the new one. dunno if they’ll bring any back with them or whatever, but there’s always ebay.

  6. James says:

    Six Shoulders Six Stone is one of the best songs on the album.

  7. josh says:

    someon’s crying? no shit. whatever happened to tragedy rocks the single?

Leave a Reply