Misery Rolls

Hot, hot off the press: new tour dates. They’re off around the NY area of the USA touring with Austrailia’s Youth Group. That’s a band, not some scout thing.
Also hot, but not in a good way: The UK release of Tragedy Rocks – someone’s just let me know the tracklisting. White Russian Galaxy, Lottery Winners On Acid, Opposite Ends, Baby Boom, Girl Just Died, Losing My Hair, Bad Vibrations, The Miserabilist Tango, Gazillions Of Miniature Violins, Someone’s Crying. Which would be almost as good as the US release, with the exception of Here Comes The Suffering (Ching) being left off. But the good thing is the release date has been moved forward a day to October 17th *woohoo* (actually I just messed up the original date, like it’s ever gonna get moved forward officialy). Note to self: must learn difference between forwards and backwards.

Added to the The Crimea category/s. Follow responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

8 Responses to “Misery Rolls”

  1. Denyer says:

    Reliable source, or is somewhere giving a tracklisting that’s just got that song missed off?

  2. Christopher says:

    reliable. and obvious really. now we all have to buy both copies. milk it.

  3. Denyer says:

    I’m not convinced these kind of release tactics ever work in the favour of bands or labels; those collecting formats or releases rather than just aiming to get the songs are in a minority.

    When people know or suspect variant releases, they tend to wait before committing. (A person with only casual interest may then forget and move onto other bands and releases.)

    Firmer fans are likely to import, especially if they’re web users. Variants are easy to compare through stores such as Amazon, and the label don’t see extra profit from imports — only weaker domestic sales in their stats.

    This leaves a large percentage of sales of a cut-down domestic version to brick-and-mortar storefronts. These purchasers are those most likely to be annoyed if/when they later discover that a more complete release exists.

    Personally I’ll be waiting until both have been released — just in case track listings change — then most probably importing the US one.

    If the UK/US releases turn out to offer different tracks (eg, Ching swapped for Forgotten on the UK release) there’ll be swearing and loss of goodwill. One locale getting extra is fine in my book, blatant cash-ins aren’t.

  4. Christopher says:

    >>easy to compare through stores such as Amazon

    *ahem* would that be the same amazon who’ve never got a single release date right for anything, and currently have the TR tracklisting as the original version? nah, we must be using a different amazon…

    you know, just "bollocks" would have had muich the same effect. but as ever, nice info there, if any one ever reads it. like i say, my current charge to move everyone over to the official site seems to be working a wee bit too well.

  5. Denyer says:

    Amazon often don’t bother updating what they’ve been initially given until after a release is made; after that they’re pretty decent. In particular they seem to list a lot of Japanese imports.

    Still not seeing worthwhile (or navigable!) content on the official site, and you’re currently tops with Google. I suspect it’s more a case of students moving back to uni and having other things on their minds.

  6. Dan says:

    Aren’t Howling at the Moon and Great Unknown missing too? Andy’s left a message on t’other board saying it’s only going to be 10 tracks. That’s just not cricket.

  7. Denyer says:

    Mmm, I think you’re right. I only skimmed and saw Chris mention Ching being missing.

    If so, it’s utter, utter stupidity on the part of the label. Do they not like money? And are they going to have to audacity to blame low sales on the band?

Leave a Reply