What Secret? Album Unleashed

Free Album Download

Sorry if you’re the last to know. You didn’t think all those news articles were for nothing, did you? The Crimea’s album Secrets Of The Witching Hour, originally destined for a May 13th release, was brought forward and released late last night due to overwhelming demand. The whole thing is free, available in 128 kbps MP3 format with a pdf of artwork.
For old and new fans alike, the retail CD version of the album can be pre-ordered here, along with old singles and merch.

Added to the Downloads, Releases, The Crimea category/s. Follow responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

13 Responses to “What Secret? Album Unleashed”

  1. Denyer says:

    Doesn’t work in Opera, either, or probably anything other than Internet Explorer. The site’s been built with a framework called DotNetNuke — VB and ASP, which means the non-link is most likely due to bending over backwards for IE’s broken style sheet support. And here was me thinking the band were mostly Mac users…

    The link at the bottom of the page works.


    Suggest sticking that into the post above, because it’ll still feed the counter on the page.

  2. Christopher says:

    I would if it did anything different for me, but that link don’t wanna work either :( Anyway, I’m waiting to see if Owen fixes the whole lot / lets me mirror the thing before mentioning it on the main page.

  3. Denyer says:

    Odd. The direct link’s fine in every browser I’ve tried it in.

    “lets me mirror the thing”

    A torrent might not be a bad idea, but you’d chew through some serious bandwidth as direct downloads…

  4. Christopher says:

    Ooh… it’s gone… replaced by a message saying they’re fixing the browser problem. But that link above still works :) and strangely fine in Ubuntu’s Firefox. Damn you windows.

  5. Mikey says:

    I’m desperately trying to not listen to it, I want the tangible pleasure of the CD in my hand. Anyone else out there feel the same?

  6. Christopher says:

    Well.. you know… if I didn’t have one already… :mrgreen: :P ahh the perks of popular webmastery.

  7. Denyer says:

    Er… how difficult is it for whoever’s on web duty to just do [a href=""][img src=""][/a] ? The anchor URI will still have the counting bit in it.

    Suppose it’s for the best my Slashdot submission didn’t get picked… someone else wanna do it tomorrow when the downloads are running again? Or with the direct link above? Include links to the newspaper articles and mention the issues discussed in them as well if you’re going to, so that it’s not just an advert.

    “I’m desperately trying to not listen to it, I want the tangible pleasure of the CD in my hand. Anyone else out there feel the same?”

    Not really — though I do want the CD — the 13th will be soon enough for me. I don’t like my only copy of something being MP3, particularly when it isn’t higher bitrate. (eg, “preset standard” encoded with LAME.)

  8. Denyer says:

    Seriously, it wouldn’t hurt for a bit to be included in the explanatory post on the official site saying “blah problems blah but you can TRY -this link- for now.”

  9. Christopher says:

    I’ve got a feeling there may be a reason they want people on the official site though (ie. that stat counter’s gonna look impressive). Album’s back up now anyway, and works in FF :D

  10. Denyer says:

    I meant the post on the official site. Just so’s people didn’t go away empty-handed when they could take a shot at getting things there and then. :)

    Have you been following Puppies releases, BTW? Neat compilation came out last week.

  11. Christopher says:

    It’s out already? What of the chances of the local indie store having it it? Is it on itunes or wherever?

  12. Denyer says:

    As far as wider circulation goes, doubtful. It’s got a barcode, but I think it’s mostly going to be available from the band as there aren’t any label details on the sleeve. Looks as if it’s been organised away from Fierce Panda.

    Speaking of whom, FP finally added the most recent single to iTunes!

    Tracklisting: (and yeah, they have got copies in hand now)

    I’ve forwarded you the mail that was sent out. :)

  13. [...] referenced in this post, which is slightly different from the released one appearing on the free Secrets Of The Witching Hour album (since re-released here). Anyway, this one was originally recorded in 2006 as a demo for the [...]

Leave a Reply