LWOA review and Blow Job on Radio 1.

There’s a review of Lottery Winners On Acid up on the Drowned in Sound website giving it 4 1/2 out of 5. Click here or on [More] to read it.
John Peel continued his advertisement of the single during his Radio 1 show on Tuesday evening. After a request from someone with a broken leg to play a pick me up, he put on Lottery Winners On Acid and later, Blowjob Or 9 To 5. Click here within the next few days to hear the show, and here or on [More] for the tracklisting.

Lottery Winners On Acid
the band: The Crimea
the label: Shiny Beast

Davey Crockett?s back, the sun is out and the proverbial pop party has restarted. As the subtleties grow stronger, the pure adolescent rush of ignominious joy knowingly straddles the line of genius/madness.
The Crimea have recorded a blast of Hawaiian ecstasy slowly devoured by lyrical masterpiece. ?Lottery Winners On Acid? resists the temptation to dumb things down and rather than drill eardrums through noize, they are enticed by lofi strawberry flavoured sugar pop. Sweet. Alas the return will herald an important point of reference.

Author: Peter White

John Peel Tracklistings: 17/12/2002
Lightnin’ Hopkins – ‘Merry Christmas (LP – Blue Yule)’ (Rhino)
The Dawn Parade – ‘Caffeine Row (CD Single)’ (Sugartown)
DJ Brokenwindow – ‘Rational Youth Get Down (LP – Parallel Universe No.1)’ (Violent Turd)
Econoline – ‘Dropper’ (John Peel Session)
Herman Dune – ‘Her Name Was Xmas (LP – Various – Get Thee Behind Me Santa)’ (Puppy Dog)
Sonic Subjunkies – ‘Central Industrial II (EP – Turntable Terrorists)’ (Digital Hardcore)
Prewar Yardsale – ‘She Used To Be Cool (EP)’ (a-ok)
James Brown – ‘Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto (LP – Funky Christmas)’ (Spectrum)
The Mountain Goats – ‘See America Right (CD Single)’ (4AD)
Econoline – ‘Chicks Dig Scars’ (John Peel Session)
Twelve Days Of XXXmass – ‘The Beatbox Sabateurs (LP – A Merry XXXmas)’ (House Of Beauty)
The Crimea – ‘Lottery Winners On Acid (CD Single)’ (Shiny Beast)
The Carter Family – ‘I’m Thinking Tonight Of My Blue Eyes (LP – On Border Radio Vol.1)’ (Arhoolie)
Unamed Irish Travellers – ‘Thinking Tonight Of My Blue Eyes (LP – The Travelling People Of Ireland’ (Lyricord)
Misc. – ‘Drive-in (LP – Warenkorb No.4)’ (Ware)
Crack:We Are Rock – ‘Hooker Leg (EP – Silent Fantasy)’ (Tigerbeat6)
Electric Six – ‘Danger! High Voltage (7″)’ (XL)
Econoline – ‘The Charm Offensive’ (John Peel Session)
Boyd Bennett And His Rockets – ‘Cool Disc Jockey (LP – Jiving Jamboree)’ (Ace)
Cristian Varela – ‘The Ninth Porn Cut (12″)’ (Pornographic)
The Crimea – ‘Blow job Or 9 To 5 (7″)’ (EMI)
Sheena Easton – ’9 to 5 (7″)’ (EMI)
Little Axe – ‘One Drop Blues (LP – Various – Chainstore Massacre)’ (On-U Sound)
Insiders – ‘Feel The Music (12″)’ (Renegade)
Lester Young – ‘in A Little Spanish Town (Pigs Big 78)’ (Mercury)
Econoline – ‘Buddy Bradley’ (John Peel Session)
The Baptist Generals – ‘Preservatine (LP – Various – Captured radio waves Vol.1)’ (Unknown)
Nick Sentience – ’1000 Miles Per Hour (12″)’ (Honey Pot)
Stanton – ‘Seaweeding (7″)’ (Victory Garden)
Detrimentum – ‘Scales To Measure The Misfortune Of Man (LP – Various – Terrorized Vol.20)’ (Terrorizer Magazine)

Added to the Radio / TV, Releases, Reviews, The Crimea category/s. Follow responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply